Spiritual Communion

HOLY EUCHARIST 08

In light of many dioceses around the world choosing to stop celebrating masses & the Sacrament of communion; it seems most prudent to help Catholics receive spiritual communion to remain with our Lord in such times of distress.

What is Spiritual Communion? “A spiritual communion is a personal devotional that anyone can pray at any time to express their desire to receive holy Communion at that moment, but in which circumstances impede them from actually receiving holy Communion.” (Simply Catholic)

If you want to get closer to Jesus and are prevented from attending mass or from receiving the Eucharist, then pray the prayers below and follow this link to find the remaining prayers which can be said to expand this spiritual work of love for our Lord.

SPIRITUAL COMMUNION  1
by St Alphonsus de Ligouri

MY JESUS, I believe that Thou art in the Blessed Sacrament. I love Thee above all things, and I long for Thee in my soul. Since I cannot now receive Thee Sacramentally, come at least spiritually into my heart. As though Thou hast already come, I embrace Thee and unite myself entirely to Thee; never permit me to be separated from Thee.

SPIRITUAL COMMUNION  2

 [To be recited three times.]

 O, Jesus, I turn toward the Holy Tabernacle where Thou doth live hidden for love of me. I love Thee, O, my God. I cannot receive Thee in Holy Communion. Come, nevertheless, and visit me with Thy Grace. Come spiritually into my heart. Purify it. Sanctify it. Render it like unto Thine Own. Amen.

 Lord, I am not worthy that Thou shouldst enter under my roof, but only say the Word, and my soul shall be healed.

+JMJ+

One response to “Spiritual Communion

  1. Pingback: Spiritual Communion | Solutio Problematis Omnes (aka "The Catholic Linker")·

Leave a Reply